Final Major Project – Teaser Trailer Audio

For my teaser trailer, I will be using the song ‘laughing on the inside, crying on the outside’. This song can represent my piece quite well with the meaning on the song being about changing emotions, and hiding the effect of emotions, and how quickly they can change and differ. I wrote a table chart to show what times the music and other sounds will play to give a more clear example to what i’m trying to achieve with the trailer, and how the music will effect it overall.Screen Shot 2019-03-28 at 09.34.39.png

The table shows some detail on the sounds that will be used, as well as the music. Its clear to see that it is a short trailer, that only features about two sounds in total. However research has showed that a short trailer works better, and that is what i’ll be making. The music choice is just a song that I liked previous to this project, and after listening to it, I realised how much it fitted to what I wanted to do with my piece. The trailer ‘dun’ effect can also be used…

This is the type of sound I wish to include in my film…

This is the song as well…

The song will also link to my colour research that explains about different colours in shots changing how the mood is. For instance dull, black imagery can have a negative effect on the audiences emotion viewing it. Music is just as powerful, and can ultimately change the mood of the whole piece. This song can be used for both happy and sad emotion depending on what footage I show with it.

One of the first things I did when it comes to researching into audio and choosing music, was read into any sort of tips or tricks that are used in other products, such as trailer and movies. A book that I found that gave me an insight into audio and was The media Student’s book. In this book, it described how the quality of audio is described as “hard”, “soft”, “fat”, or “thin”, or “warm”, “bright” and “cool”. possible referring to heavier sounds, or light piano to change how someones mood is effected. I wanted to see what some of these terms meant and according to the Head-Fi sight, the term of a “fat” sound quality means it seems Full and Warm. Saying that the audio is “warm” and “fat” meaning that there isn’t an echo and is soft and clear when heard. I also looked at what the definition of “Hard” sound is. A “hard” sound is hard and sharp on the ear, and heavier for the audience to listen too.

Audio and sound can really change how a pieces emotion is portrayed, and I feel as though I have chosen the right song for my trailer, that can bring across the effect I want to achieve.

Music can help drive a piece of film, and cary its genre much more than what just the visuals provide.

UPDATE… (9TH MAY)

I will also now want to include a new song called smile from the ‘Joker’ trailer. This song will fit perfectly into my piece.

 

 

 

Leave a comment